Federal Cabinet Members Vying for Office to Resign by Monday

You are viewing content from Nigeria Info, Let's Talk! Lagos. Would you like to make this your preferred location?

President Muhammadu Buhari has directed all members of the Federal Cabinet as well as all appointees vying for elective offices in 2023, to resign from office.

Announcing this on Wednesday after the weekly Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting, the Minister of Information and Culture said the appointees must do so all on or before Monday, 16 May.

Alhaji Lai Mohammed stressed that the President is empowered by the nation's Constitution to appoint his cabinet members.

The affected ministers are those of Niger Delta Affairs, Godswill Akpabio; Science, Technology and Innovation, Ogbonnaya Onu; Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; and Labour and Employment, Chris Ngige.

Others are the Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Timipre Sylva; Minister of State for Mines and Steal, Uche Ogar; and the Attorney General and Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami.

The FEC also approved the contract for the purchase of operational vehicles for the  Nigerian Security and Civil Defence Corps (NSCDC), and of the strengthening of Nigeria's national grid.


  • Lagos Weather

    Light rain

    High: 29°C | Low: 24°C