On Air Now


7:00am - 9:00am

2026 World Cup: FIFA Confirms Automatic Qualification for US, Mexico, & Canada

You are viewing content from Nigeria Info, Let's Talk! Lagos. Would you like to make this your preferred location?

The national football team of the U.S., Mexico, and Canada will automatically qualify for the 2026 FIFA World Cup.

FIFA released a statement on Tuesday confirming their qualifications.

The FIFA Council confirmed that, in line with the long-standing tradition of having all hosts competing at the FIFA World Cup, as well as sporting and operational considerations, the hosts of the FIFA World Cup 2026, namely Canada, Mexico, and the USA, will qualify automatically for the final round of the competition,” the governing body said.

“Their slots will therefore be deducted from the overall allocation of six assigned to CONCACAF.”

The three countries won the right to host the tournament in a united North American bid.

FIFA historically has given host nations the right to play in the World Cup without going through the usual qualification tournaments.

But this is the first time FIFA has had to set aside three host bids, with the tournament billed to expand from 32 to 48 teams in 2026.


  • Lagos Weather

    Thunder storm

    High: 32°C | Low: 26°C