On Air Now

Sunny Side

Noon - 3:00pm

INEC Chairman Swears in 19 New Resident Electoral Commissioners

You are viewing content from Nigeria Info, Let's Talk! Lagos. Would you like to make this your preferred location?

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has 19 new Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs).

They were sworn in at the INEC headquarters in Abuja Thursday by the chairman of the commission, Professor Mahmood Yakubu.

The INEC boss charged the newly appointed RECs to work to uphold the integrity of the commission.

He reminded them that their loyalty is first to the Nigerian people.

“Never disappoint Nigerians,” he said.

“Only their votes should determine winners in the 2023 General Election, nothing more, nothing less.

“There should be no deviation from this path of honor and integrity.”

The 19 RECs were formally deployed to their respective states after the swearing-in.

Fourteen of them were newly appointed and five were reappointed.

New Appointments

Onyeka Ugochi                      Imo

Muhammad Bashir                Sokoto

Ayobami Salami                     Oyo

Zango Abdu                           Katsina

Queen Agwu                          Ebonyi

Agundu Tersoo                       Benue

Yomere Oritsemlebi                Delta

Yahaya Ibrahim                       Kaduna

Nura Ali                                   Kano

Agu Uchenna                          Enugu

Ahmed Garki                           FCT

Hudu Yunusa                           Bauchi

Uzochukwu Chijioke                Anambra

Mohammed Nura                    Yobe


Ibrahim Abdullahi                   Adamawa

Umar Ibrahim                         Taraba

Agboke Olaleke                       Ogun

Samuel Egwu                          Kogi

Obo Effanga                            Cross River


  • Lagos Weather

    Thundery shower

    High: 33°C | Low: 26°C