On Air Now

Whaat's Up Lagos

10:00am - Noon

NEMA Lists States, Communities That May Experience Flooding

You are viewing content from Nigeria Info, Let's Talk! Lagos. Would you like to make this your preferred location?

The National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) has listed 14 states and 31 communities in Nigeria that are at risk of heavy rainfall and subsequent flooding from July 4 to 8.

According to a statement released on Wednesday by Mr Ibrahim Farinloye, the Coordinator of the Lagos Territorial Office of the National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA), relevant stakeholders in these affected areas have been advised to take necessary precautions to prevent the loss of lives and damage to property.

The states and communities that have been identified as high-risk areas are as follows:

  1. Plateau: Langtang and Shendam
  2. Kano State: Sumaila and Tudun Wada
  3. Sokoto State: Shagari, Goronyo, and Silame
  4. Delta: Okwe
  5. Kaduna State: Kachia
  6. Akwa Ibom: Upenekang
  7. Adamawa: Mubi, Demsa, Song, Mayo-Belwa, Jimeta, and Yola
  8. Katsina State: Katsina, Jibia, Kaita, and Bindawa
  9. Kebbi State: Wara, Yelwa, and Gwandu
  10. Zamfara: Shinkafi and Gummi
  11. Borno: Briyel
  12. Jigawa: Gwaram
  13. Kwara: Jebba
  14. Niger: Mashegu and Kontagora



  • Lagos Weather

    Thunder storm

    High: 31°C | Low: 25°C