On Air Now


4:00pm - 6:00pm

Speaker Race: Doguwa, Two Others Step Down for Abbas

You are viewing content from Nigeria Info, Let's Talk! Lagos. Would you like to make this your preferred location?

The Majority Leader of the House of Representatives, Rep. Ado Doguwa, and five other aspirants have stepped down from the speaker and deputy speakership race of the 10th Assembly.

The aspirants stopped down at a meeting of members-elect under the auspices of the ‘10th Joint Task’ on Wednesday night in Abuja. 

The speakership aspirants, Rep. Ado Doguwa (APC-Kano), Rep. Abdulraheem Olaoye (APC-Ogun), and Rep. Makki Yalleman (APC-Jigawa state) stepped down for Rep. Tajudeen Abbas (APC-Kaduna state).

Also, the deputy speakership aspirants, Rep. Abiola Makinde (APC-Ondo), Rep. Francis Waive (APC-Delta)and Rep. Julius Ihonberev (APC-Edo) stepped down for Rep. Benjamin Kalu (APC-Abia).

Speaking on behalf of the speakership aspirants, Doguwa said that they had come to join the Abbas/Kalu campaign. 

He said they all wanted to be the speaker but that there can only be one speaker at every given moment saying that they will support the party’s choice. 

Abbas and Kalu are the All Progressives Congress’ preferred candidates for the office of the speaker and deputy respectively.

On 9 May, the National Working Committee (NWC) of the APC zoned the Senate Presidency of the 10th National Assembly to the South-South, the Speakership of the House of Representatives to the North-West, the Deputy Senate Presidency to the North-West, and Deputy Speakership to the South-East.

The party settled for Senators Godswill Akpabio and Barau Jubrin for Senate leadership and Abass and Kalu for House of Representatives leadership. 


  • Lagos Weather

    Thundery shower

    High: 31°C | Low: 25°C