On Air Now


7:00am - 9:00am

2023 Elections: More Governors-Elect Emerge

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has announced more results following the governorship elections on 18 March.

Here are some of the victorious candidates:

INEC Declares APC’s Francis Nwifuru as Ebonyi State Governor-elect

On Monday, INEC declared the APC governorship candidate, Francis Nwifuru as the winner of Saturday’s governorship election in the state.

Nwifuru polled 199,131 votes while Bernard Odoh of APGA got 52,189 and Ifeanyi Odii of the PDP had 80,191 votes.

The number of accredited votes was 350,345, out of the 1,597,646 registered voters in the state.

APC’s Bassey Otu Wins Cross River State Governorship Election

Senator Bassey Otu of the All Progressive Congress (APC) won the governorship election in Cross River State after winning in 15 of the 18 local government areas in the state.

bassey-otu cross river cropped

INEC said he polled 258,619 votes to defeat the People’s Democratic Party candidate who got 179,636 votes.

The Labour Party garnered 5,957 votes.

The number of registered voters was 1,766,466, accredited voters were 466,294 in number, and 451,933 valid votes were cast.

APC’s Umar Bago Wins Niger State Governorship Election 

And in Niger State, Umar Bago of the All Progressives Congress (APC) was declared the winner of the governorship election.

Umar Bago Niger cropped

He polled 469,896 votes to defeat his closest rival, Isah Liman-Kantigi of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who scored 387,476 votes.

Joshua Bawa of the Labour Party (LP) and Ibrahim Yahaya of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) got 3,415 and 3,378 votes respectively.

The registered voters in the state were 2,698,344 in number while the accredited votes were 899,488.

The number of valid votes was 873,020, and the rejected votes were 16,936.

APC’s Hyacinth Alia Wins in Benue State

The APC’s Fr. Hyacinth Alia has been declared the winner of the governorship election in Benue State.

Fr. Alia won with 473,933 votes to defeat his closest rival, Titus Uba of the PDP who got 223,913 votes.

The INEC returning officer for the election said voting did not take place in Kwande Local Government Area but that the difference in votes between the APC and PDP candidates was 251,020, more than the number of eligible voters in Kwande.

PDP’s Sheriff Oborevwori Wins Delta Guber Poll

The Peoples Democratic Party’s Sheriff Oborevwori was declared the winner of the governorship election in Delta State.

Sheriff Oborevwori Delta

He got 360,234 votes to defeat his closest opponent, Senator Ovie Omo-Agege of the All ProgressivesCongress (APC) who scored 240,229 votes.

The number of registered voters was 3,221 687, while the total number of accredited voters was 710,829.
The number of votes cast was 687,121.

PDP’s Mutfwang Wins Plateau Governorship Election

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate in Plateau State, Caleb Mutfwang was declared the winner of the governorship election. there.

Caleb Mutfwang Plateau

Mutfwang scored 525, 299 votes to defeat his closest opponent, Nentawe Yilwatda of the All Progressives Congress (APC), who scored 491, 370 votes.

The governorship candidate of the Labour Party, Patrick Dakum got 60,310 votes.

Mutfwang won 10 out of the 17 local governments in the state.


  • Lagos Weather

    Thundery shower

    High: 34°C | Low: 26°C