On Air Now

Game On

7:00pm - 10:00pm

2023 Presidential Election: Kwankwaso Wins Kano

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the presidential candidate of the New Nigerian People’s Party (NNPP), Rabi’u Musa Kwankwaso as the winner of the presidential election in Kano State.

The State Collation Officer for the Presidential Election (SCOPE) in the state, Prof. Lawal Suleiman Bilbis disclosed this shortly after compiling the results of the 44 local governments.

The NNPP won 36 of the local government areas.

The party scored 997,279 of the total votes cast to beat the presidential candidate of the All Progressive Congress (APC), Bola Ahmed Tinubu, who polled 517,341 votes after winning the remaining eight local government areas.

Prof. Bilbis further said the presidential candidate of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), Atiku Abubakar scored 131,716 votes, while the Labour Party (LP) candidate, Peter Obi polled 28,513 votes.

Kano has 5,792,448 registered voters, out of which 1,769,525 voters were accredited for the presidential election.

The result showed that the total votes cast were 1,746,410 out of which 44,405 votes were rejected. Valid votes were 1,702,005.


  • Lagos Weather

    Sunny intervals

    High: 35°C | Low: 28°C