On Air Now

Sunny Side

Noon - 3:00pm

Senate Stops 10 TV Stations from Covering Proceedings

Senate has barred no fewer than 10 television stations in the country from covering its proceedings at the newly renovated chamber.

By this new directive, only seven television stations are allowed into the gallery to cover legislative activities.

A Sergeant-At-Arms operative, stationed at the chamber’s entrance, told journalists on Tuesday that Senate President Godswill Akpabio instructed the security unit to prune down the number of media organizations.

This followed a circular signed by the Senate clerk, Chinedu Akubueze, and pasted at the entrance.

The accredited media are Nigeria Television Authority (NTA), Channels, African Independent Television (AIT), Television Continental (TVC), Arise News, Newage and ADBN.

Journalists who cover the National Assembly were shocked that the decision was taken despite ongoing dialogue.

Last Wednesday, the press corps met with the clerk to iron discuss the coverage of the Senate’s proceedings.


  • Lagos Weather

    Light rain

    High: 30°C | Low: 25°C