On Air Now

Sunday Morning with

6:00am - 10:00am

Headies 2022: BNXN Emerges Next Rated, Wins Bentley

You are viewing content from Nigeria Info, Let's Talk! Port-Harcourt. Would you like to make this your preferred location?

WizKid became the first artiste to receive a total of 20 awards in the history of the Headies on Sunday.

An array of celebrities gathered for the award show which was held at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre in Atlanta, Georgia.

WizKid won big, going home with four awards in different categories. His Made in Lagos album won  Best Afrobeat Album and Album of the Year, while Essence in which he featured Tems won Best R&B Single, Song of the Year award, and Best Collaboration.

The show had live performances from Flavour, Ladipoe, and Ruger and was hosted by Hollywood actor, Anthony Andersen and Nollywood actress, Osas Ighodaro.

BNXN (FKA Buju) won the Next Rated Category, dedicating his huge win to his late mother.

The Headies organizers will be giving the singer a brand new 2022 Bentley.

Ayra Starr won the Headies Viewer's Choice award ahead of big names in the music industry like Olamide and WizKid.

Here is a full list of the winners:

Best Music Video – TG Omori (Champion – Fireboy DML feat. D Smoke)

Best R ‘n’ B Single – Wizkid feat. Tems (Essence)

Best Collaboration – Wizkid feat. Tems (Essence)

Songwriter of the Year – Adekunle Gold (Sinner)

Artiste of the Year – Burna Boy (Nigeria)

Best Afrobeat Album – Wizkid (Made in Lagos)

Humanitarian Award of the Year – Davido

Album of the Year – Wizkid (Made in Lagos (Deluxe Edition)

Best Male Artiste – Burna Boy

Best Alternative Album – Ibeji (Intermission

Digital Artiste of the Year – Davido

Best Recording of the Year – Patoranking (Celebrate Me)

Headies’ Viewer’s Choice – Arya Starr (Bloody Samaritan)

Best Vocal Performance (female) – Waje (Last Time)

Producer of the Year – SARZ (Monalisa – Lojay and SARZ)

Lyricist on The Roll – A-Q (The Last Cypher)

Best Afrobeat Single – Fireboy DML (Peru)

Best Vocal Performance (Male) – Oxlade (Ojuju)

Best Streethop Artiste – Goya Menor & Nektunez (Amenor Amapiano remix)

Best Reggae and Dancehall Album – Patoranking (Three)

Best Rap Single – Ladipoe feat BNXN (Feeling)

Best Alternative Single – Flavour (Doings)

Best West African Artiste of the Year – Gyakie

Hall of fame – Angelique Kidjo

Best Central African Artiste of the Year – Innoss’B

Rookie of the Year – Fave

International Artiste Special Recognition – Akon & Wycle Jean

Best East African Artiste of the Year – Diamond Platinumz

Best Inspirational Single – Kcee & Okwesili Eze group (Cultural Praise)

Special Recognition – Efe Omorogbe, Sunday Are, and Bose Ogbulu

Best North Africas Artiste of the Year – Latifa (Tunisia)

Special Recognition -Dbanj (Talent)

Best South African Artiste of the Year – Focalistic (South Africa)


  • Port Harcourt Weather

    Thunder storm

    High: 29°C | Low: 23°C