On Air Now

Sunny Side

Noon - 3:00pm

Minority Caucus Resolves to Contest for Leadership of 10th Assembly

You are viewing content from Nigeria Info, Let's Talk! Port-Harcourt. Would you like to make this your preferred location?

Opposition Representatives-elect say they will contest for the Speaker and Deputy Speaker positions in the 10th National Assembly.

They reached the resolution at the end of their meeting in Abuja.

After the meeting, the Representative of Sagbama / Ekeremor Federal Constituency of Bayelsa State, Fred Agbedi, said the opposition lawmakers have the number to emerge victorious.

He added that an 11-member committee has been set up to search for credible candidates for the Speaker and Deputy Speaker positions.

The opposition parties have 183 Representatives-elect of the 360 in the green chamber and include the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), Labour Party (LP), New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP), Africa Democratic Congress (ADC), Young People’s Party (YPP), All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), and the Social Democratic Party (SDP).

Last month, they formed a coalition known as ‘Greater Majority’.


  • Port Harcourt Weather

    Thundery shower

    High: 32°C | Low: 22°C