On Air Now


1:00am - 5:00am

Osimhen, Oshoala Win 2023 African Best Player Awards

You are viewing content from Nigeria Info, Let's Talk! Abuja. Would you like to make this your preferred location?

Super Eagles forward Victor Osimhen and Super Falcons striker Asisat Oshoala have been crowned the 2023 CAF African Players of the Year.

Osimhen bagged the men’s award, and Oshoala won the women’s title at an event held in Marrakesh, Morocco, on Monday.

The 24-year-old, who plays for Napoli FC of Italy, won the coveted prize 24 years after Nwankwo Kanu won it in 1999.

No other Nigerian football player has won the African Player of the Year award since then.

Osimhen defeated Egypt’s Mohammed Salah and Morocco’s Achraf Hakimi to win the crown.

The Super Eagles striker had an excellent football season in 2022, helping Napoli to win the Serie A title for the first time in 33 years.

He also emerged as the Serie A Player of the season, with 26 league goals and 31 in all competitions.

For 29-year-old Oshoala, this is her sixth time winning the award, having won it in 2014, 2016, 2017, 2019 and 2022.


Super Falcon’s goalkeeper, Chiamaka Nnadozie, won the women’s Goalkeeper of the Year prize, while the team was named the best women’s national team in Africa.

The Falcons Michelle Alozie and Tosin Demehin made the CAF women’s best XI. 


  • Abuja Weather

    Sunny intervals

    High: 32°C | Low: 22°C