On Air Now


1:00am - 5:00am

Six Commissioners Resign from Fubara’s Government

You are viewing content from Nigeria Info, Let's Talk! Abuja. Would you like to make this your preferred location?

Six commissioners have resigned from the cabinet of Rivers State governor Siminalayi Fubara.

The commissioners are the Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Zacchaeus Adangor; theCommissioner for Works, Alabo George-Kelly; the Commissioner for Special Duties, Emeka Woke; the Commissioner for Social Welfare and Rehabilitation, Inime Aguma;  the Commissioner for Finance, Isaac Kamalu; and the Commissioner for Education, Chinedu Mmom.

Citing reasons for the resignations in separate letters, the Commissioner for Works, George-Kelly, said he resigned because his conscience would not allow him to stay.

The social welfare commissioner said she has other commitments.

The Commissioner for Justice said his resignation was based on personal principles, and the education commissioner cited personal reasons.

Five of the commissioners served under the Nyesom Wike administration in the same capacity.

The Commissioner for Special Duties was former Governor Wike’s Chief of Staff for eight years.


  • Abuja Weather

    Sunny intervals

    High: 32°C | Low: 22°C